Loading...

Happy Boaties – DBY Client Testimonials

Hi David, I just wanted to say thanks to you and your team for achieving such a prompt sale at a good price. The whole process went without a hitch from my perspective and I just wanted to say how pleased and impressed I am. I think Simon and Kate are perfectly suited to Audacious and I hope they enjoy the boat as much as I have. See you out on the water.

Thanks & regards

John Priddis – Seller of Pawtucket 35 “Audacious” – November 2018

Hi Darren, Just wanted to say a big ‘thank you’ for all your assistance with my recent purchase of Audacious. For my first foray into the world of yacht buying, your honest advice and help over the last couple of weeks was really appreciated. Will definitely pass on the good word for DBY Boat Sales

Thanks again.

Simon Gray – Buyer of Pawtucket 35 “Audacious” – November 2018

Our DBY experience.

 We came to DBY, not because of the company, but because they had particular boat for sale.

 In the past I have had a couple of very poor experiences with other companies which gave me a very jaded view of brokers in general. However my experience with DBY was totally different and has changed my view completely.

 For a start there was no pressure during the sales process. We were given as much time and space that we needed to inspect the boat. David’s management of the negotiation process was excellent, as was his management of the sale. There was never any attempt to sell the boat as anything other than what it was, and he kept the process moving along at a comfortable pace.

 There is an integrity with this brokerage in that they stand by their word. If something about the process isn’t right, they will make it right. I know everyone says “don’t use the surveyors on the brokers list”. Well, they had the same surveyors on their list that were recommended by my sailing friends.

 Another good thing about using DBY is their industry knowledge and contacts. When I was preparing the boat for the delivery trip and needed anyone for work or advice on the boat, they were able to get someone or put me in touch with people at very short notice. They just know the business.

 Who would expect after sales service from a broker? I didn’t expect it, but DBY went way beyond my expectations to make this whole experience easy. The team at DBY are professional and friendly, as well as having a wealth of knowledge. I should also point out that they are very hardworking. We watched these guys continually ferrying potential clients out to boats, putting paid to the idea that brokers just sit around waiting for sales to happen. I shouldn’t mention that they sometimes worked on their days off, but they did.

 I have no association with DBY and get no reward for writing this. I bought a boat using their services and was very happy with that experience. I would say, if buying or selling a boat, do yourself a favour and let them be your first port of call. I am happy to be contacted if anyone wants further information.

Phil Gray – buyer of Feeling 416DI Oceana 1 – April 2018

 

All the staff at DBY in Newport were most helpful and flexible when I came to look at and eventually purchase a boat through their agency. I was especially grateful for the local advice and after sales assistance they gave me when I moved onto the boat in an area unknown to me. Thanks again Graeme and the folks at DBY.

Hans Sipsma, Buyer of Duncanson 35 Blythe Spirit – June 2018

 

We recently purchased a Lagoon 440 catamaran through DBY boat sales. This came after months of searching for the right boat for our family. Graeme and the team at DBY boat sales were fantastic through all facets of the sale. We couldn’t have had more help during this period and are delighted with the outcome, Steve and Lou.

Steve & Lou Smith, buyers of Lagoon 440 Sioux – May 2018

 

Hello Rod, we got the money for our boat and wanted to say thank you for helping us.  I am very happy with the amount, we got almost 100% of the money we spent on the boat including boat purchase in 2015 …   We probably wouldn’t have even sailed to Australia if we hadn’t met you in French Polynesia.  We are going to do a trip like this again and will contact you about which boat we need to buy.  Already told some friends crossing the Pacific about you guys.  Take it easy, Adam

Adam Southerland, seller of C & C 39 Black Watch – May 2018

 

Greetings fellow sailors,
When the decision was made to sell our catamaran, we were finishing another season of cruising in Fiji and were debating whether New Zealand or Australia would be the best venue for marketing the yacht.  Several Australian cruising friends encouraged us to continue west but the decision was made easier by a personal meeting with Rod Waterhouse of DBY Boat Sales and his charming wife Kerry during the Musket Cove Regatta Week.

We were immediately impressed by their warmth, enthusiasm and impressive sailing backgrounds.  They explained in depth the process of selling a foreign yacht in Australia, made recommendations as to ports of entry and suggested an itinerary for enjoying the coastal cruising en route to their headquarters in Pittwater.  After hearing about the ease of inbound clearance, DBY’s prime location just north of Sydney and the present strength of the Australian economy and market for yachts, the decision was made.  Australia it was!

Our positive experience with DBY Boat Sales continued once we arrived in Pittwater and were immediately made to feel at home by the fine staff.  David Renouf, their resident catamaran expert with extensive international experience, took the lead in helping us price our yacht appropriately and, along with all the others, made sure our yacht would be enthusiastically marketed and well looked after while we travelled home to the States.

Ultimately, our yacht sold in a timely manner and completing the formalities of the transaction and hand-over to the new owners was a smooth as could be.

Based on our very positive experience, we are happy to offer our sincere recommendation of DBY Boat Sales to others that may be selling their yachts.  When you get to Pittwater, please give Rod, Kerry, David, Darren, Graeme and Liz our warmest regards.

Mark McClellen and Anne MacDonald – seller of the Dolphin 460 Catamaran “Three Sixty Blue” – April 2018

 

Hi Darren,

As a first-time boat buyer I wasn’t sure what to expect in dealing with a boat broker, having read a lot about them and the industry. Thankfully I came across Darren and DBY on my searches.
From the outset Darren was honest and helpful, spending time pointing out the bad and good bits about the boats I looked at, he seemed to genuinely care and his passion for boating was obvious.
After finding the boat that I wanted, Darren helped me through the buying process and things went smoothly, communication was great as he was always on the end of the phone or quick to reply to emails.

During the handover of the boat he went through everything, going through all the boat’s intricacies and after a few teething problems I was out on the water cruising and enjoying my new purchase! I have been so grateful for the follow up service I’ve had from Darren… He’s been a point of contact and knowledge, and has helped me immensely as a relatively inexperienced sailor. On a number of occasions I’ve had to call Darren to get me out of trouble and he’s come to my rescue! The most recent was after we fouled the prop on a mooring line in a strong southerly – on a Friday evening… diving under the boat in these conditions, and at that time, to free the line would not be thought of as part of the regular broker service? But that just goes to show that Darren’s a genuinely good bloke who cares about people and would go out of his way to help the boating community. Looking forward to sailing down to Sydney with Darren’s help, I’ll miss Pittwater and his ‘on call service’! I will be back though and if I’m lucky enough to upgrade in the future there’s no doubt I’ll be giving Darren and DBY a call! Cheers!

Micheal Tame, East cost 31 Hustler – February 2018

 

I have received confirmation of the sale of Monark and wanted to thank you three and the whole DBY team for your excellent service.  I have no doubt that our boat would not have sold as quickly or at the same price were it not for your expertise and time.  Thank you very much, we will highly recommend DBY to any and all prospective buyers within our realm of influence. 

Robin Urquhart, seller of Dufour 35 Monark – February 2018

Hi Darren,

We would like to thank Darren and all the team at DBY Boat Sales for the exemplary way they have helped us through the buying process for our Bavaria Ocean 40 yacht.  Darren was incredibly friendly, helpful and professional in understanding our needs and achieving a successful outcome for us – we just love the boat.  Darren is very knowledgeable, was responsive to all our questions and also provided us with lots of useful information to help make our boating experience enjoyable.  Not only this, but we have also had lots of practical support from DBY after completing the purchase so we can use the boat with confidence – including some challenges with a tangled mooring line! This is far and away over and above what we expected and we know we can get local help and advice when we need it which is very important for us.   Thanks to the DBY team.   

Andrew and Ali Staal, buyers of Bavaria 40 Tahaa II – February 2018

 

Hi Rod,

I just want to thank you and Darren for you efforts in selling the boat so quickly and efficiently.  Although a bit of sadness that the boat is gone, once I decided to sell the boat it was good to get it sold quickly.   As previously it has been a pleasure dealing with you……

Ted Culley – Seller of Bavaria 40 Tahaa II

 

 

Thanks Rod, you have made this easy for us we will definitely contact you if we look for another boat someday….

Adam Southerland, Owner of the C & C 39 Black Watch upon leaving his boat in our care to sell – January 2018

 

Hi Rod,
You and the others of DBY made my stay in Australia very enjoyable. Moving out of a boat is similar to move to another house, in another country…complex.
Your support exceeded the attributions of a boat broker, and I left with the feeling of new friends.

Thank you.

Best regards
Julius

Julius Weber, Owner of the Dehler 39 Trinidad upon leaving his boat in our care to sell – January 2018

 

 

Hi Darren, Thanks for your great work to sell our boat so quickly. The payment has gone into our bank account. We appreciate your kindness and consideration during the process.

Kind regards,

John and Gersha Staal, Sellers of Compass 29 Saskia II – January 2018 

 

We had been keeping an eye on the boat market for around a year and struggled to find any boats that ticked all the boxes – everything was a compromise.  We first met Darren after inquiring about a boat he had listed and after a couple of inspections we decided that it wasn’t quite for us.  Darren was really understanding, patient and friendly – he listened to us and had a clear idea as to what we wanted from our next boat, and it was obvious from the start that he genuinely wanted us to find a boat that worked for us and not just sell us a boat that needed selling.  It was for these reasons that he stood out from all the other brokers that we had met.

After a couple of weeks following the last inspection, Darren contacted us about a boat that was yet to be listed, he said that it might just be the one for us, however it was located in Rockhampton.  Darren met me at the airport, drove me to the boat and let me spend as much time as I wanted looking through the boat and answering all the ridiculous questions that you can ask about a boat.  He was right, this boat genuinely ticked every single box, we agreed the sale on the inspection.

Darren did everything he could to make the sale as smooth as possible – talk about going above and beyond he even delivered the boat with one leg in plaster while he was on crutches!  He has since helped us after delivery with a mooring and lots of sound advice to get us started on our new boat.  We certainly didn’t expect this from him, it has made a huge difference and has been greatly appreciated.

We would wholeheartedly recommend Darren and the team at DBY, we would without a doubt use DBY to sell our boat if we were ever in that position.

Andreas & Christian Smith, Buyer of Bavaria 32 Rhonda – November 2017

 

After spending a few months on our yacht sailing from Port Macquarie up the east coast of Australia, we had pretty much decided that we needed a bigger boat, perhaps a motor cruiser.

We spent quite a bit of time surfing the internet looking at what was about and came upon a listing of DBY’s and decided to make an inquiry and to also find out if we could trade our yacht.

Upon meeting Darren, we found him to be knowledgeable and easy to get along with.  We emailed Darren some photos and the details of our yacht and before we knew it, it was sold!  It was that easy.

Darren communicated well via email and phone, we were kept informed at all times as to the progress of the sale.

We would highly recommend Darren and DBY to assist you with your boating needs.

Col and Rhonda Taylor, Seller of Bavaria 32 Rhonda – November 2017

 

I am delighted to write this little story of my experience at DBY Boat sales in Newport. Proir to this I had no experience with Yachts so I called DBY Boat Sales as I had Interests in a TopHat Yacht. There, Darren Parker Guided me through the purchase and helped me in every way, even in securing a mooring.  Being a chef I know how customer service works and he went beyond that and made me happier than I can remember. 100% recommendation to Darren and The team at DBY Boats.

Yours truly John Hofma, Top Hat 25 Atacama – August 2017

 

Dear Rod, now our Franchini 47 has been sold it’s time to look back. In 2015 we contacted several eastern Australia based  yacht brokers, DBY (David)  answered within 24 hours and we got in touch with you.

Being international sailors we needed a lot of information from you. First we were not ready to sell, but in mid 2016 we decided to sell anyhow. In December 2016 we arrived in Pittwater. Selling an unknown Italian Franchini mono hull is not an easy process, we went through difficult times but at the end you found a new owner of the boat. Thank you for your patience, perseverance and open communication. I want to thank Liz and Katie for their endless support while being in Australia and in Europe, the men are lucky with you! Darren thank you for taking customers from known boats to our unknown boat and the dive. I keep very good memories of the time I was in contact with DBY…

Bert Boerema, Seller of the Franchini 47 Luna Azul, July 2017

 

I would like to pass on my sincere thanks for the excellent service I received following the purchase of 30′ yacht “Aqua C” through DBY Boat Sales.

In particular the continued follow up by  Darren Parker who greatly assisted with sound advice following vessel survey  on recommended contractors in which to provide vessel upgrades.These proved to be excellent and work was undertaken and completed to an excellent standard and in a timely manner.

Darren also followed up and assisted with vessel move to appropriate mooring and checked vessel on a regular basis. Nothing was too much trouble and his experience within the boating market proved invaluable.    

Also the initial and continued follow up by Liz Guthrie whom greatly assisted with boat insurance through Club Marine. This process ensured that policy was adjusted accordingly and accurately reflected yacht condition noting full replacement of running and standing rigging. All enquiries were handled in a prompt and professional manner.

I have no hesitation in recommending DBY Boatsales to any prospective boat purchaser noting the excellent service that I received and again a sincere “Thank You”.

Ian Rushton, Buyer of the Traditional 30 Aqua C, June 2017

 

I have had some mixed experiences with boat brokers over the years but Darren Parker at DBY bent over backwards to help with the purchase of our yacht. Being interstate makes things even more complicated but even post purchase Darren helped out with advice & all the last minute arrangements, even giving us a loan of his own car! No problems recommending Darren & DBY Pittwater & their friendly service.

Steve Cartlidge, Buyer of the Cavalier 395 Amante, March 2017

 

Darren, thank you for finalising the sale of ‘Amante’ –  you achieved in no time what others were not able to do in over a year.

Eugene O’Brian, former owner of Cavalier 395 Amante, March 2017

 

Thanks for all your awesome work on making this happen – far faster than we anticipated and at the price better than we’d hoped for.

Wayne Seitz & Dana Greyson, former owners of Journey, Pearson 365 Ketch, February 2017

 

Dear Graeme and David … We did appreciate all the wonderful support and kindness we received from you and the team. We can’t thank you enough!!!

There is always a bed for you at … our house …

Neville and Sally Kidd, purchasers of the Beneteau 46 now called Hau Koruhi.

 

Hello David,
Happy New Year!  We would like to thank DBY for excellent work.
Lidia and I were most impressed by your crew’s service, attention to detail, professionalism and creativity. 

 In particular, Angela and Graeme took care of everything from arranging the mooring at a short notice, valuable advice, friendly and supportive attitude, creating beautiful marketing material with pictures and video, bringing many potential buyers and finally selling our boat in less than 3 weeks. 

 We hope the new year will bring a lot of good business to your team.

 Best regards,

Dmitri and Lidia Ishchenko, former owners of Beneteau Cyclades 43.3 Brizo, 3rd January 2017.

 

Thanks Rod, we appreciate everything you have done for us.

If/When we sell Manali you will be the first on our call list!

Thanks for all your assistance – your help has been outstanding and it has been an absolute pleasure dealing with you.

– Erwin, Beneteau 42 Buyer, December 2016

 

I would like to record our appreciation and thanks to Darren for the professional and skilful work over the sale period.
Due to the circumstances it was a difficult sale. I was in Queensland, the boat in Pittwater.
Darren arranged for several trades to work to prepare the boat.
During the sale period he kept me fully informed of progress and gave good advice and showed perseverance and patience until he made the sale. I am grateful for his help and wish him well.
Dennis Rowan, seller of Southcoast 36 Nankeen, July 2016.

Hi there
As you know I purchased recently an Amel Mango via your brokerage. What you may not know what was preceding that:

But more or less by coincidence I contacted Darren Parker, who showed me a few boats the next day. I was impressed by Darren’s demeanour, knowledge of the boating scene and his personal and professional traits.

After the nearly 3 months’ courting process I became the owner of a boat I never had considered 3 months earlier. Although it is very early days, and I have barely taken possession of the boat, I am happy with the purchase.

And here is the reason of the letter: without Darren I would have never completed the purchase, would have walked away after my first or second visit, not to return again.

And maybe to sum it up, and I said this to Darren as well: “You made it so easy for me to buy this boat”.

Of course when all the paperwork has been done, the brokerage fees will be split etc. Although technically I am not contributing to such fee, I hope I can change that by including some lotto tickets with this letter. I will leave it up to you how to split the winnings (yes, I asked for 2 winning tickets…..), as the other staff I met were all helpful and courteous: Dave, Graeme, Liz and Katie.

Unfortunately the tickets are WA based, but I am sure there is a way to cash in the winnings.

Again, thank you all for your help, and may your company enjoy fair winds.

Regards
Hank Rosendal

– Happy new owner of the Amel Mango 53 Tempest, June 2016

 

Dear Darren,
I would like to say a big thank you for your help and support when I purchased my Vancouver 34. It was a particularly lengthy process, because I was selling my house in order to fund buying a boat. Well, it wasn’t just buying a boat for me, it was the beginning of my dream project and I’m so glad that you were involved in this journey with me. And you are still continuously supportive and encouraging me!

You shared so much of your knowledge when it comes to boats and sailing, above and beyond any ‘customer service’ I would normally expect. In fact, everyone at DBY has been incredibly friendly, helpful and above all professional, which why I would never hesitate to recommend you to anyone looking to buy/sell a boat.

Thank you very much!

Regards,
Kayo Ozaki
Vancouver 34 Nausikaa buyer, Kayo Ozaki, June 2016

 

From our first impression, to the clear explanation of the buying process and the follow up, we could not have better customer service. Darren went the unexpected mile in supporting our purchase. Belinda and I are more than happy and would recommend DBY to anyone for either selling or buying a yacht.
Challenger 41 buyers, Malcolm and Belinda King, March 2016

 

Thanks to you and all the staff at DBY for making the purchase of our yacht so easy and trouble free. We are particularly grateful for all of the local knowledge passed on, the aftersales assistance, and for babysitting our dinghy whilst we flew back to Melbourne for a little longer than expected.
Kind regards Jason and Marie .
Walker H28 buyers – February 2016

 

DBY went to great lengths to show us a number of yachts – and in the end knew what we really wanted even more than we did! They found us our dream yacht and continued to assist us through our purchase and even provided after sales service and advice well after the deal was done. The friendly team all worked together to this end, and we now consider them as friends as well as business associates. We have listed our old yacht with them – and recommend them to anyone, whether buying or selling a yacht.
– Najad 34 buyers – Laurie and Eden Smith, Mitta-Mitta, VIC, January 2016.

 

I entrusted the sale of my Space Sailer 24 to Graeme Hedges of DBY Boat Sales with confidence given their long track record of successfully selling boats on Pittwater. I had previously sold another boat through DBY some years ago.

My Space Sailer 24 was listed on a Friday and sold the following Wednesday. This sale was entirely due to Graeme’s skill in redirecting a buyer who was looking for a larger boat to consider looking at my boat which was more suited to his needs.

A very speedy sale was the result.

– Spacesailor 24 seller – Don Rees, December 2015.

 

DBYclients

David,

What can we say. Bloody brilliant. You are just bloody brilliant.

Thank you so much for everything you have done. I had no idea there was so much at stake.

We sure as hell owe you a beer – which of course isn’t enough. We will sure be recommending you to anyone who needs a damn good yacht broker.

– Lenny and Gina, “Feijao” Jeanneau Sunkiss 47, November 2014

From an August 2014 press release broadcast by McIntyre Adventures on the Youth Program ‘The Voyage of Imagination’ with Jessica Watson –

My ultimate little Ocean cruiser is a Tradewind 35. This 1993 model had been for sale 11 months before in New Zealand, for US$123,000. Built and fitted out in the UK by the designer builder for his own use, it was in excellent condition.

It was bought by an Australian, then sailed to Australia late last year.  Duty and GST were paid and it was put up for sale with David Bray Yachts shortly after for $95,000. I mentioned it to Jessica and was surprised to learn she had fallen in love with the design when originally considering a boat for her own solo challenge.

It had dropped to $75,000, then all of a sudden just days before I saw it, to $68,000. Current new build price is $500,000!!. I made a move on it at $58,000 all sight unseen, with no survey, or slipping done, but with excellent service from the broker who I trusted.

It took one Phone call and about  six emails. I got it. Opps? It was just seven days since I saw that $17,000 bargain. Now the budgets are around $90,000. We renamed her ‘Betty” after my Mum!

Best of luck Don McIntyre and Jessica on your project and thanks heaps for the kind words!

– Follow the progress and read more on the Voyage of Imagination here

Hello Naomi,

We have just sold our Beneteau Oceanis 461 ‘QuickStar’ through Rod Waterhouse at David Bray Yachts.  

Since the time we first contacted Rod while we were in Fiji, he has been responsive and pro-active. He gave us great advice to enter Australia via Coff’s Harbour rather than Brisbane. Once we arrived in Pittwater, Rod listed ‘QuickStar’ for sale.

We then flew home to Canada and he took care of everything since then.

Our sailboat was a unique custom configuration that didn’t have mass market appeal, so he needed to work hard to get showings to the more limited potential client base.

We have been more than satisfied with the professionalism, email updates and extra effort that he had to put in to selling our boat to maximize the sale price.

Their mooring rates were also very reasonable and we appreciated the guardianship of ‘QuickStar’ while we were halfway across the world.

Once sold, they recommended a foreign exchange company that got us a better rate. They even took care of this for us and we received the proceeds immediately. They went above and beyond and we would highly recommend Rod and David Bray Yachts.

Please send our thanks once again to Rod and the team.

Cheers.,

 -Diana Young and Peter Bruckmann, “Quickstar” Beneteau Oceanis 461, September 2014

Hi Ian,

I just wanted to say thank you for the very efficient way the team at DBY managed the sale of my yacht, and the purchase of my new vessel. You made the whole process easy and stress free.

It was particularly pleasing that the whole DBY team got involved with advice and assistance as and when necessary.

So thanks to all at DBY. I will certainly recommend you to friends and anyone I meet who is looking to buy or sell a boat.

Regards,

-Charles, “Provocateur” Catalina 270 and “My Way” Triton 24, August 2014

Naomi and Wayne,

Once again thank you and thanks also to David for sticking to the agreement.  We have purchased a waterfront property on Pittwater and will be relocating shortly.

I will have no hesitation in recommending your brokerage to all I come in touch with.

 Am sure the business will grow and grow with the great crew that you have there.

 Thanks again,

 -Ian Walton, “Dreaming” Northshore 27, June 2014

Hi Rod,

Finally getting around to writing to thank you for all of your help in purchasing Divided Sky and preparing her for transport to WA. Since she arrived here we have been busy upgrading and replacing various items.  Our three month trip up north began yesterday.

Once again thank you for recommending an excellent surveyor, guiding us in the selection of a company to ready the boat for transport and going out of your way to provide transport until we picked up the hire car.

Warm regards,

Nick and Robyn Walker, “Divided Sky” Catalina 400, April 2014

Dear Wayne, Rod, David and Naomi,

I’d like to express my sincerest thanks to you all for your work over the past few weeks.  Everything from the abandoned purchase of Divided Sky to the sale of Avalon was done with absolute efficiency and speed, and your friendly and professional manner made the process painless for me.

In all respects you made the experience everything one could wish for in working with a broker.  I’d like to give a special thanks to Naomi for getting insurance cover through for my new boat on a Friday afternoon and to David for dealing with last minute banking problems.

I trust you’ll understand I hope I won’t need your services again for a while, but I will strongly recommend you to anyone who is looking to list their boat.

lulu– Murray, Catalina 36 MKII, Feb 2014

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you Rod for helping us into ‘Lulu’ as painlessly as possible.

We felt so at ease dealing with you, that you even made parting with all the money easy!

Your help in getting us through was outstanding as I was not sure what to expect, so thank you very much.

– Colin & Glenys from New Zealand, “Lulu”, Hanse 470, Feb 2014

We bought our Corsair 37 through David.  After only a short time, it became apparent that both he and his delightful wife Linda, are experts in multihulls.

Their depth of knowledge is enhanced by their boundless enthusiasm for the subject and is mirrored by their expertise as multihull sailors.  Their impressive racing performance speaks for itself.  There was great after-sales service.

We were new to this type of multihull and they gave us a lot of coaching which was most welcome.  With accomplished expertise, David also fitted the depth gauge, the radio, the EPIRP and the automatic steering system.

The package included his knowledge of the marine insurance industry – not always the easiest to get with these crafts, however, David managed to arrange full insurance at a suprisingly good premium.

See you on the water – if you can keep up!!!